About me.. part dos (2)

I couple of years ago I ventured on my own to blogging. I had been part of the blog my hubby and I started and I’m still part of it but this time I wanted somethings different as I wanted to share my journey into my new me.

If you have read my About MeΒ you probably have seen a little about my background and the beginnings of my journey. Sometimes I get the question a lot about why I do all these crazy things and those always make me think about the whys. I mean we all do these for fun and if it wasn’t fun then we are paying a lot of money to be miserable. I’ve compiled a few of my motivation tips around my blog and you can take a look around. It is the psychologist in me that keeps popping out and of course I have to apply my own psychology a lot of times.Β 

IMG_6622I also serve as a Commissioned Officer with the U.S. Public Health Service and IΒ tri to live by our mission and core values. Our mission reads: “…to protect, promote, and advance the health and safety of our Nation.” I live by it because I believe in it, I’m a firm believer that we can have a healthier Nation if we all put a little of our own into this cause. Of course, I am in the frontline of this, but with my job I try to raise awareness about how being active and in general living a healthy lifestyle can lead to many more positive things. I also tri to lead by example, being to my team, my co-workers, my patients, in and outside of work, even with my own family.

I didn’t find out about being healthy and active until well into my 30’s and I wish I had found it earlier, I didn’t dislike exercise, I paid many months of some unused gym memberships through the year and maybe I went to the gym for the wrong reasons. A lot of times was so I didn’t feel guilty for not throwing my money away. Nowadays, we have a membership and we know we have a purpose, we go and we have our mission when we go, finisherpix_0823_028792and best of all, it doesn’t go to waste. We feel accomplished and good when we go to the gym. I still probably haven’t stepped in the weight room in a long time, mainly do swimming, cardio, spinning, but now I see the gym as a fun place, of course I tri to do as much as I can outside, now with the winter is getting harder to do it outside, so the gym is our training grounds.

I hope to continue inspiring and motivating others with my journeys and crazy (for some) lifestyle. I’m sure it isn’t for everyone, but like I always said, if I can change one life at a time I think it’s one more life that we got on the right track. Make sure you follow me on Instagram, Twitter and like my Facebook page, links are on the right hand side of your screen :).

63 thoughts on “About me.. part dos (2)

  1. olivesanwine

    I see the gym as a fun place too! I was not into fitness at all until around the age of 22. Something just clicked – I wasn’t feeling healthy so I decided to start moving and I haven’t stopped since. I love your mission and focus on improving the health of yourself and others – Something we can all strive for in our lives!

    Reply
    1. latinaandtriing Post author

      I know… sometimes my hubby and I question why we didn’t get into this lifestyle earlier. School, work kept getting in the way and I guess it was other times. Now we wouldn’t change it for anything and doing other things just feels weird.

      Reply
  2. Lauren

    I saw your pic volunteering for the NY marathon yesterday via IG and did’t realize you were part of the blog hop, how fun!! I love your drive and passion! Keep it up!

    Reply
    1. latinaandtriing Post author

      Yes, we were at our orientation for this Sunday. We try to always give back by volunteering. We love seeing normal folks grinding it out there and getting it done. You’ll definitely see a post about the volunteering day and tons of pics. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Jennifer Gill

    Hi there from the blog hop! I think it’s great that you’ve really come into your own and found a true love for health and fitness. Also, I have a friend that works for the U.S. Public Health Service in the DC area. She loves it too!

    Reply
  4. erin

    Hi πŸ™‚

    Nice to meet you. I was active as a child and then after high school just completely stopped and didn’t pick it back up until I was almost 30.

    Reply
  5. Marissa @ WhereINeedtoBe

    I’m totally the opposite. I’ve been into fitness since I was 17. Got involved in triathlon and racing in my 20s and now that I’m in my 30s I’m backing off a little. Love your pictures on the Brooklyn Bridge. It’s one of my favorite places to run!

    Reply
    1. latinaandtriing Post author

      I don’t think I knew what triathlon meant in my 20’s…. even when I started I wasn’t even sure what it was.. :). we are going through the back off a little phase, but it is a part of our lives, we just don’t need to compete as much :).

      Reply
  6. Mandie

    For me, fitness has always been intrinsically part of me. It’s the nutrition part that is super hard and where I need to learn! But I love your idea of helping or inspiring one person at a time! It can start a huge ripple effect for sure! What do you do as a commissioned officer with the US Public Health Service?

    Reply
    1. latinaandtriing Post author

      yeah nutrition is important, but I am not too stringent to follow diets or counting calories… is bad enough to see how many I burn and for me to start counting how many I eat πŸ™‚ I’m a Psychologist @ USPHS.

      Reply
  7. cassi9879

    I knew about being healthy and active but I refused to do anything about it until I was 33.5. I’ve never heard of the US Public Health Service before. How’d you get involved with them?

    Reply
    1. latinaandtriing Post author

      that was pretty much the age I started… I got introduce to USPHS through work. There were officers at my job and I wasn’t sure how it worked out. Once I did my research and one of the officers became my mentor it all made sense.Best move I’ve ever done.

      Reply
  8. Ellyn @ In Fitness and In Health

    Stopping by from the blog hop – so nice to meet you! So glad you see the gym as a fun place now!! It’s my safe haven, somewhere I can forget about the rest of the world and focus on only me. I love when others feel the same. You mentioned wishing you had gotten into a healthy lifestyle earlier… don’t be too hard on yourself! Some people never get into living an active life at all. Your passion and commitment shine through in your writing, too – love it. Hope we can stay in touch! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. latinaandtriing Post author

      I mean… I am not too hard on myself. I just think that probably I would be faster I had started earlier, I just have to work extra hard now to catch all the fast girls in my age group. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. Wendy @ Wholistic Woman

    Sounds like you have an awesome job and are a great role model. I hear you on the gym membership thing. My husband and I used to refer to it as our “fat tax.” LOL. Now we go to the gym to help with our marathon and tri training, rather than out of guilt or for free parking downtown. I look forward to following your blog so I can hear about all of your adventures.

    Reply
    1. latinaandtriing Post author

      That’s exactly how we felt, it was just a waste of money for us. we would freeze it and not get charged as much but at the end it was always down to never going for the right purpose. Looking forward to following your blog too…. so glad I got on this hop.

      Reply
  10. Ryanne

    So nice to meet you! I love your commitment to health and your determination. As someone who loves the gym, and finds it very comforting to be in the gym, I also enjoy those who can make a workout work outdoors anytime and anyplace! I enjoy reading your blog and look forward to learning more about you!!!

    Reply
  11. mrsportiasmith

    I’m with ya in that I didn’t discover fitness and true healthy living until much later than I should have – in my late twenties. I so wish I had the same philosophies when I was young that I do now! So good to meet you in the blog hop! http://www.obsessedbyportia.com

    Reply
  12. Sun

    Great story! I also see the gym as a fun place to go – in fact, it’s the time of day I look forward to most πŸ™‚ I think it’s great that you make a point to help motivate your family, friends and coworkers to get fit – sometimes all it takes is a little encouragement for someone to give it a try and fall in love!

    Reply
  13. HoHo Runs

    Hi! I’m coming from the hop. I am so amazed and inspired by your TRI-ing, in all facets of your life. I’m currently injured and have put many miles on my bike. Cycling is growing on me. I didn’t get truly fit until 40 although I had been a lifelong waterskiier. I too wish I had started sooner.

    Reply
  14. runawaybridalplanner

    Sounds like you are an amazing example to those around you, I love what you have done with your life seriously inspirational:)
    I’m glad you took the leap and decided to go off into your own direction with blogging, and share your experiences, skill and knowledge. You absolutely never know who you may inspire by something that you write, or the way someone else see’s how you live your life!

    Reply
    1. latinaandtriing Post author

      I am glad I did the change too. I mean we still try to blog together on the other one but this one is my baby. Thanks for running this hop it has been awesome to connect with others

      Reply
  15. curlycaroline

    Love how you look at things with a positive mindset! I often don’t use my gym membership! I definitely need to create a plan or mission as you say! Spin classes are challenging! But I love group fitness classes, and really hope to make more time to attend them at my gym!

    Reply
  16. missmirandat

    The gym is definitely my fun place! Coming from someone who didn’t have a very athletic background, its crazy for me to think how important exercise has become in my life! Its definitely my “me time“ and where I am at peace with myself and my surroundings! πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for all that you are doing to promote health and wellness – it is truly inspiring πŸ™‚

    Reply
  17. Matilda Iglesias

    There is a saying that goes “Change so you can inspire change”.
    While changing for myself (getting fitter and healthier) was important to me, I realised that I was my biggest role model for my kids.
    If I wanted them to be fit and healthy, then it started with me.
    I always believe that even if I can help just 1 person, then my job is done.

    Reply
    1. latinaandtriing Post author

      That is so true! I definitely will be stealing that saying :). I don’t have any kids but try to bring our niece and nephew to our activities so they see it from an early age πŸ™‚

      Reply
  18. Aimee

    That’s awesome that you are able to work in a job where you aree encouraging others to live a healthy lifestyle. Your tri pursuits are inspiring. You are setting a fantastic example for those around you!

    Reply
  19. foodiecology

    Hey! I’m new to your blog via the blog hop. Like you, I wish I’d started caring more about fitness earlier in life (it was post-college for me). But we all have to start somewhere, right?
    I love what you stand for and how you Struve to be a positive influence to others.
    Thanks for sharing, and it’s nice to “meet” you.

    Reply
  20. Lara @ Uptite Mamas

    Hi There! Visiting from the blog hop and I like what you did there with the “tri”. Super cute! I was the same way with not finding my way through health and fitness until my 30s and wish I found it earlier. At least we have it now!!! Great job with your accomplishments. I applaud your work with Public Health Service. Thank you!

    Reply
  21. chocolaterunnergirl

    Hello from the blog hop! I love your title with a play on words with tri! Oh the love of the gym! It has been a love of mine for many years! Well close to 20! Wowza!
    Being able to motivate and educate others on the benefits of healthy living is so vital! Thank you for doing your part!
    PS. I love your IG pics! They are beautiful πŸ™‚

    Reply
  22. Polly

    Good day! I found your link from the blog hop.

    I admire your commitment and determination to finally practice living healthy. I was once like that, I did a lot of crazy things during my younger years and one day, decided to finally change – for the better. I stopped smoking, attend gym classes/have cardio/lift. I also salute you for tri’ing to lead by example – I see what you did there πŸ˜‰ ❀

    Polly @ Pollydefiesgravity.wordpress.com

    Reply
  23. Teri B.

    I love reading about your journey and admire how you can have a job that is line with your beliefs about healthy living! How cool is that?! I hardly spend time in the gym, too. I’d rather enjoy the outdoors in almost every kind of weather. What’s your next big adventure? So happy to meet you through the hop! I’ll be following πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. latinaandtriing Post author

      It definitely helps when I can see I’m making a difference. I definitely enjoy the outdoors more than the gym but the convenience of the Gym is great :). My next adventure is only 24 days away when I start my 4th ironman in Cozumel

      Reply
  24. Lisa Rini (@got2runnow)

    Found your blog through the blog hop. I didn’t really start running again until i was in my early 30’s s well. I love this sport, and am so happy to have found so many people that have the same passion about it. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  25. Safari @ Tri-ing To Run Boston

    AWESOME!!! I also joined the world of fitness in my 30’s and I swear I don’t know what I used to do with all my time before I met fitness. I recently had to ask myself that very question, after being side lined for two months, recovering from a blood clot in my lung…yeah, I still don’t have the answer. lol Keep inspiring…that is also my hope…to inspire just ONE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

