Growing up… Getting older… Playing like a kid

IMG_1498.JPGSometimes we get all worked up in grown up (being an adult) type of things. Like work, being responsible, paying bills, you get it… But a lot of times we use the growing up and getting older terms and perhaps they don’t mean the same thing.

IMG_1499.JPGTo me getting older… it is a number… For others might be aches and pains, maybe one of the reasons I try to stay fit so getting older doesn’t hit me that hard however I know my “recovery” takes a bit longer but at least I know why I’m hurting and it’s a good type if hurt.

So while we might disagree with my definition…. Heck I don’t expect you it to get to the Merriam Webster, I think we often use them as an excuse to avoid “playing like kids”. Once again, person has their own interpretation of what that means too. More often than not, it means simply partying like the world is going to end, staying up late, drinking, and indulging in that lifestyle. Of course I’m not judging, if that is what makes you feel happy, more power to you. Probably my type of playing like kids is a simpler connotation of the phrase. For me it means going to bed early so I can get up to do things I guess

IMG_1500.JPGI rarely did as a kid, like going for a swim at the pool or lake, or going for a spin with my hubby on our bikes, granted our spins are not just spins… We go distances that most people wouldn’t even drive, or get up to run around our neighborhood with our puppie. So it means really playing like a kid.

Of course, we see kids (we don’t have our own) go on for hours running, jumping, crawling, doing what kids do best… Have FUN!, so I guess, whatever you do, if you are playing like a kid make sure you are having fun. Naturally you will feel tired and that’s what naps are for. We took naps as kids right? Totally acceptable!. As long as you are having fun, resting as you should you will definitely feel younger, so growing and up/getting older will actually feel a lot better as you continue to be active. Oh and if you really drag having some fun running or being active, trust me… Time flies when you are active :).

IMG_1501.PNG

Leave a Reply

