Why do I (we) do this…

We question ourselves a lot about why we do this. Sometimes it is not even us the ones questioning, a lot of times we get the question from friends, coworkers, family and others that simply think we are totally insane.

Since we did our first Tri… We were simply hooked. It seems like you either love it or hate it. There are no in betweens with triathlon. With running , for instance, it is a love/hate relationship. You might have a good run one day but an awful one the next day but overall you go back to it. We have been lucky enough that while we’ve had mostly good experiences in tris, they haven’t been so bad that we don’t want to see it again. When it comes to our sanity… I think we lost our mind long time ago… Maybe when we signed up for our first Ironman. Then came the 2nd and then the 3rd. By then the diagnosis was clear and I don’t think I needed a DSM-V to even confirm it…. Just kidding… ALWAYS Consult your Psychologist for diagnosis :).

Again, how about the question… why we do this? In my Trials and Tribulations of becoming a better athlete/person I have thought about it a lot. Clearly I’ve spent enough time in the pool or on the bike or running that I just get to think about those things? you will be amazed what your mind can do. So here are some of my reasons… I’d include Felipe in them because at the end of the day we don’t do it alone… I don’t think I could, here we go:

 

how-to-become-a-better-person1. Because we want to be better: I know this might sound like the typical vague answer you hear or perhaps you have used, but I think it is bigger than that. We started exercising because we didn’t want to be “that couple” we didn’t want to just live in the corporate world and not doing anything about our health, or simply doing the bare minimum to it. You always want to drive your car and probably want it to be working perfectly and will invest a good chunk of your salary to either make payments or give it the appropriate maintenance right? Why not do the same with your mind and body? Sometimes it is actually cheaper to maintain the mind and body. I mean really cheap don’t even need a gym membership. By being better I mean, maintaining and trying to be  a better wife, daughter, sister and in my case Psychologist… At the end of the day that’s what pays for this and I think my patients definitely benefit from this. They all saw my Dallas Morning News profile and they definitely see me differently.

2. Because we like to push our limits: you might think.., well then just do a marathon, anpush-yourselfd you are right that’s to some pushing enough. Trust me sometimes during our workout schedules we say to each other… Marathon training is so much better, but I guess at this point our mind has gotten so strong that it doesn’t really listens to the body anymore. It is more of how much further we can make our bodies go. 140.6 miles of pain… That’s I think our limit… The new limit is how many of those we can do :).

c61c6af0143e59b33c0588f7c83391ae3. Your body will thank you later: I know I don’t have the best gene pool when it comes to diabetes, cancer and all of those other diseases that we all try to run away from. Felipe is the same way, including heart disease and a few others. We know we are young and one of the things we don’t want to is turn 50 and have to deal with any of these. It is true that sometimes it is hard to fight genetics, but something I’ve learned is that we can change that destiny or at least delay the process… that’s our train of thought :). Our bodies are sore from our workouts, and we are probably more prone to injuries and accidents but at the end of the day we feel better, which at the end of the day is all it matters.

There you have it… these are only a few of the reasons why I (we) do what we do. Stay tuned for more of my trials and tribulations about a healthy lifestyle. In Spanish we have a saying “mente sana en cuerpo sano” with translates to “Healthy mind in a healthy body”. Let’s keep those minds healthy then… only you can make a difference. 🙂

Leave a Reply

